Living in Limericks

poetry and experiences of a multi-cultural family

ch ch ch ch changes

4 Comments

There appeared a fork in the road

“Which way?” said the frog to the toad

They could see to the right,

Their future looked bright

In the 974 country code

In his song Changes, David Bowie wrote “Time may change me. But I can’t trace time.” One could interpret this a few different ways, but whenever I listen to the lyrics, I feel inspired to accept life’s changes, big or small. And I end up thinking: why wait for something to happen in time, when it could right now?

Teaching internationally is something I have wanted to do for years. And getting a PhD is something Joe is passionate about achieving. Living in Ireland has been a grand adventure, but unfortunately there aren’t many job prospects for us here at the moment. An opportunity presented itself back in the spring, and after much thought, we decided to go for it: in three days, Joseph and I will be leaving Ireland and moving to Doha, Qatar.  Joseph will conduct research, continue working on his PhD and coach soccer, while I will teach in the Early Education Center at Qatar Academy. To answer a few questions I know you’re thinking: Yes, Qatar is a safe country (ranked #12 in the Global Peace Index). No, I am not required to wear a burka there. Yes, I will be allowed to drive. No, it doesn’t rain there like it does in Ireland, not at all actually. In fact, today it is over 100 degrees (yes, everything is air conditioned).

Our bags are packed, our visas are printed, and we celebrated a last night out on Friday. We are definitely going to miss our friends and the beautiful scenery and atmosphere in Ireland. And at the same time, we are so excited to experience living in Qatar. I promise to keep blogging and post lots of photos- see you in Doha!

4 thoughts on “ch ch ch ch changes

  1. Heidi, you are both amazing and I am so happy for you guys! Best of luck on your newest adventure! Can’t wait to see pics 🙂 Traci

  2. Best of luck on your new adventure!!

Leave a Reply

